How to get a Barber License in Florida
The steps listed below must be completed in order to become a licensed barber in Florida.
The barber’s board which is a part of the Florida department of Business and Professional Regulation is the body in charge of licensing and regulating barbers in the state of Florida.
Florida is one of the few states that license barbers at various levels. The class code for licenced barbers in Florida are:
Barber Assistant: This is a barber whose job details is restricted to the application of conditioner or hair tonics and shampooing of hair. All barber assistants must be supervised by a licensed barber while working. The barber’s board in Florida does not issue new license for barber assistants, it renews the license of barber assistants that have been licensed earlier.
Barber: A barber is a professional who is permitted to do all the following services related to the beard and hair:
Barbers are also permitted to apply creams, lotions and oils to the scalp, face or neck by mechanical appliance or by hand.
A Restricted Barber’s Duties:
- Blow drying
- Application of hair sprays and tonics
First Step: Completion of a Program at any Barber School in Florida
Before you can become a licensed barber in Florida,0020you must successfully complete a barbering program in a barber school in Florida. All programs approved by the Barber’s Board must have at least 1,200 hours of barber training.
You also have the option of completing a restricted barber school in Florida which consists of a minimum of 1000 hours of barber training since this does not involve the chemical treatment of hair.
The Florida Department of Education can be contacted for a list of barber schools in Florida.
Second Step: Application for a Barber License in Florida
Once the required educational hours have been completed, an Application for a primary license must be submitted.
You can also apply online through the Online Application Services of the Department of Business and Professional Regulation.
Once the completed examination application has been submitted to the Department for processing, one will be contacted by Pearson VUE, the vendor in charge of the exam to schedule a time and date for the written exam for barber licensure.
Third Step: Taking and Passing the Barber Exams
The Bureau of Education and Testing is the body in charge of administering, developing, reviewing and grading every barber examination in Florida. The bureau uses Pearson VUE o schedule, administer and grade the exams. You must place a call to Pearson VUE to schedule a date, time and location. You can also contact them via their website.
Due to the fact that there are two barber licenses issued by the department, a barber can perform chemical services. The examination for a barber and restricted barber is different from each other.
The barber examination in Florida has 100 multiple-choice questions set for a duration of 3 hours. The examination has the following content areas:
- Hair Chemistry and Structure
- Beard, Shaving and Mustache Trimming
- Hair styling and Hair Cutting
- Sanitization, Safety and Sterilization
- Florida Barber Laws and Rules
Restricted Barbers Examination
The examination for restricted barbers has 30 questions covering barber rules and laws in Florida. There is a time limit of one hour to complete the examination.
You will receive an exam result report with your photo immediately after you complete the examination.
Fourth Step: Seeking Professional Opportunities in Florida as a Licensed Barber
Barbers that are licensed in Florida can work as independent contractors, salon/barber shop employees and business owners. Independent contractors usually rent booth space at a barbershop or salon.
This allows them better control over their income potential and the atmosphere of their shop. It is quite common for barbers that are more experienced to start working as independent contractors or consider opening their own barbershop business once they have their own clientele.
Fifth Step: Keeping your Barber License Current in Florida
Every barber license in Florida must be renewed before or on July 31st of every even-numbered year. Before their barber license expire, barbers are required to complete an HIV/ADS course that is approved by the board.
The course covers topics like modes of transmission, clinical management, infection control procedures, prevention of HIV and AIDS and other sanitary requirements.