How to become a licensed barber in Louisiana
Being a barber means that you’ll be specializing in the art of men’s grooming and hair styling and trimming. According to Labor department statistics, Louisiana’s considered to be among the highest paying states for barbers all across the country.
Moreover, Louisiana’s considered to be the home for the best barbers. The state topped the ranks of men’s hairstyling in Men’s Health Magazine. There are various shops, each popular for its traditional style (take a look at what’s happening on Instagram) and cutting edge equipment like antique towels, customer chambers and fancy chairs.
To become a barber in any state in the U.S., you’ll require a barber’s license.
In Louisiana, this process is carried out by the Louisiana Board of Barber Examiners. You need to be specialized in dealing with male hair and contours before you attempt any of the licensing examinations.
Follow these steps to professionally become a barber in Louisiana:
Step 1. Complete 1500 Hours of Louisiana Barber Training
The first thing everyone from Louisiana aspiring to become a barber must do is to simply get admission in a barber college. For that you’ll be requiring the following documents:
- Student Application (notarized)
- A valid copy of your High School Diploma
- 2 Pictures of yourself, sized no larger than 3″ x 5″
After completing your admission process you’ll be a registered barber student.
The Board in Louisiana requires every student to complete at least 1500 hours of training in barber school before they’re considered able to appear in barber licensing examinations. During your educational training, the following areas of knowledge are taught:
- Introductory lectures
- History of Barbering
- Work Ethics
- Precautionary measures
- Louisiana State Laws and Regulations
- Anatomy and Physiology
- Management skills
- Employment Preparation
- Massage and Facials
- Hair trimming / Hairstyling
- Shampooing & conditioning
- Hygienic studies
After completing your study hour duration at school, you’ll be awarded with a Board’s review. On the basis of it, you can easily appear in the state’s barber licensing exams. Once you are done with 1500 study hours, your college will notify the Board and you shall automatically be eligible for the very next barber examinations.
Another option offered by the Louisiana state board to people that pursue barbering as a profession is an apprenticeship training program.
In case you cannot enroll yourself in a barber college or study program, you can easily enroll for a barber apprenticeship.
The duration is considered equal to the study program whereas the work involved is more practical. To be a professional barber’s apprentice, you need to be more than seventeen years of age and must have at least a highs school diploma as your proof of education. You have to complete a total of 4000 hours in this kind of training:
- Haircuts – 1100 hours
- Facial treatments – 100 hours
- Hair conditioning & Scalp Treatments – 100 ours
- Sterilizing and Disinfection – 100 hours
- Hair removal through waxing – 900 hours
- Hair color – 600 hours
- Hair Relaxing – 100 hours
- Artificial Hair – 550 hours
- Work Management skills – 250 hours
- Work ethics – 200 hours
Step 2. Submit Your Application to Attempt Louisiana Licensure and Examination
You’ll receive an application for your Louisiana barber license and examination upon graduation. You’ll then need to supply the Board with the following materials and information:
Once you’ve graduated from a barber school or have completed an apprenticeship, you’ll be sent an application for licensing exam from the Board. You have to return it with the following documents:
- Filled examination application
- Furnish two 3×5 Signed Photographs
- Notarized barber training certificate with “hours completed” clearly mentioned.
- Pay $32 Examination Fee
- Pay $40 License Fee
Applicants from outside the Louisiana state are also entertained. You’ll be submitting the following in that case:
- $57 Out-of-State Examination Fee
- $40 License Fee
For people that already hold a barber’s license registered in another state, the Board offers reciprocity options as well.
Barbers who apply through this option do not have to take the regular licensing examination. Submit the following documents if you want a license transfer to Louisiana State:
- License issuance certificate
- Experience letter from previous workplace
- $100 as processing fee
If you want to apply for your barber license through regular examination procedure, you’ll have to send all your documents with filled application form to the following address and wait for a reply:
4626 Jamestown Ave
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
Step 3. Clear State’s Barber Licensing Exams
Barber examinations in Louisiana take place every 90 days. The exams contain both written and practical parts:
The practical examination has a time limit of 3 hours. Life models need to be brought by the candidates themselves. One female and two male models are required for an exam. The following barbering services need to be displayed properly:
- Taper Cut (performed on a model)
- Cutting and styling (performed on another male and female)
- Perm Rod Wraps
After that, a theoretical examination has to be attended. A time period of 60 minutes is allowed for the written examination. The exam composes of questions from the following topics:
- Louisiana State Laws and Regulations
- Product ingredients and Electric Equipment Handling
- Skin and Scalp Disease identification
- Different Shaving Styles
- Hair Cutting, Styling, and Design
All candidates need to obtain a score of 70% or above to get a legal barber’s license in Louisiana. After passing both these exams, your license will automatically be issues.
Step 4. Begin your Career as a Licensed Louisiana Barber
You can choose from these two paths once you become a Louisiana barber:
- You can start working for someone regularly or on contract basis.
- You can also open your own barber startup.
There are hundreds of renowned barbershops in Louisiana, and New Orleans the top choice for new barbers, especially with the large population of tourists milling through town. You can rent a barber chair and equipment or purchase it according to your liking.
If you wish to start your own business and open a barbershop, you need to write a notice to Louisiana barbers board at least a month before you plan on opening. These rules and regulations regarding barber activities must be read before. Also check these steps before you open:
- Carry out a detailed shop inspection.
- Meet Minimum Equipment Requirements
- Get sterilization equipment