How to get a Barber License in Missouri
The increasing demand for masculine grooming environments has attracted a lot of young people to the barbering profession.
All men require the highest quality hair care and for that they’re willing to pay the rice. This is exactly why being a barber is considered a well-paid job these days.
Once you become a barber, you’ll be among the pioneers who’ve defined male grooming in your region.
Your job would be to simply provide your customers with the best possible care. Missouri’s Department of development has reported a sharp rise in jobs for barbers and beauticians in the coming decade. If being a barber is what you have decided in life. Then don’t think again and follow these steps:
All the examination activities for State licenses is held by the Missouri Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners.
This entity is responsible for all kinds of barber activities in this region. The licensing procedure which you’ll have to go through involves a simple examination conducted by this Board of cosmetology. Each barber in Missouri is left with 2 options:
Step 1. Complete a Board Approved Barber Program or Apprenticeship
Enroll yourself into a registered barber school or simply start an apprenticeship. In case someone wants to start a degree in barber activities, he’ll be required to submit the following document items:
- Proof of identity i-e ID or Driving License
- Copies of all the examination documents
- Two 2” x 2” photographs
- Medical exam results
- A $25 enrollment fee
Every barbering student must complete a total of 1000 hours sitting in classes learning about barbers and their dreams.
There’s also a second option for you to become a barber if you’re not good at attending classes and all.
All candidates can enroll themselves in an apprenticeship program instead of studying. The only setback here is that you’ll have to work for at least an hour to go up and see her. Every candidate has to cover a total of 2000 apprenticeship hours and learn the following:
- Anatomy and Physiology – 10 hours
- Germ Killing – 10 hours
- Chemical Hair Relaxing and Soft Curl Permanents – 60 hours
- Product ingredients – 10 hours
- Facial Massage and Treatments – 10 hours
- Hair dressing – 850 hours
- Hairstyling – 650 hours
- Hair Coloring – 60 hours
- Hair left over treatment – 10 hours
- History – 10 hours
- Usage of tools by your own hand– 30 hours
- Mustache and Beard Design – 10 hours
- Waving Hair – 60 hours
- Professional Image – 10 Hours
- Issues of the scalp – 30 hours
- Salesmanship and Shop Management – 10 hours
- Mastering Shaving technique – 70 hours
- State Law – 20 hours
- Cleanliness and Sanitization – 40 hours
- Treatment of Hair and Scalp – 40 hours
Both these study options are not inter-related. This means that if you’ve completed study hours, you cannot transfer them into the apprenticeship program.
Step 2. Pass Missouri’s Barber Licensure Examination
After you have completed your school training and have been taught all the aspects of being a barber, you’ll need to appear in a screening test to earn your barber’s license. The examinations are governed by the Missouri Board of Cosmetology. You need to have be in accordance with these things if you want to appear in the exams:
- Must be aged 17 or above
- Be free of contagious or infectious diseases
- Fill and submit the license examination form
- Graduate from barber school in time
Barber examinations take place every month but at different venues throughout the State.
- 1st Monday – St. Louis
- 2nd Monday – Kansas City
- 3rd Monday – Jefferson City
- 4th Monday – Springfield
The exams you’ll have to take contain both a written and a practical part. Following topics need to be covered if you want to pass:
- Preparing barber equipment
- Scalp and Skin diseases
- State laws for barbers
Step 3. Renew your Missouri Barbering License
After you are done with the barber examinations, you’ll be screened by the governing bodies. If you obtain a good score and fulfill all other criteria of the Board, you’ll be notified by them about your license approval status. Once your license is made, the Board requires $20 before you could collect it.
These barber licenses need to renewed on the last date of September each year alongside $30 renewal fee.
Step 4. Consider Opening your Own Barbershop
A very important factor for barbers is that they can start their own business in the field whenever they have enough capital. You may start off as a booth rental barber but once people get to know you and appreciate your work, money and skill both will keep coming. You can open a business of your own, dictate the work hours and work however you want. For this purpose The Board will be requiring these things from you:
- A filled Application of establishment needs to be submitted
- Create floor plan
- Bill of sale or lease agreement
- Copy of your license
- Processing fee of $100