How to become a licensed barber in Tennessee
Barbers and their styling procedures vary depending upon their taste. You can either get one to give you a traditional makeover or find someone with to turn your look into a more modern one. In case you want to be one of them, this is a perfect time to start your career in the state of Tennessee. The area is rich in quality hairstyling shops. Frank’s barbershop is one very famous haircut provider in the region.
To become a hairdresser in Tennessee or anywhere in the United States, you’ll need to acquire a barber license first off. You can give a barbershop a touch of your own work after you’re officially licensed by after clearing the screening process by the Tennessee barber’s board. All activities related to styling of men are regulated by this department.
Step 1. Pass a 1500-Hour Tennessee Barber Training Program
You are required to get admission in a registered barber school where you’ll be taught all the tricks of the trade. A total 1500 hours of study need to be completed, either by doing 8 hours a day or 40 hours a week. The teachings are based on these subjects:
- Cleanliness and germs
- Biological basics of barbering
- Study of hair texture
- Basic level chemistry
- Massages and relaxation
- Anatomy of the skull and neck
Every student is eligible to appear in the licensing test after graduating from barber school successfully.
Step 2. Clear the Tennessee Practical and Theory Licensing Examinations
After you become eligible to appear in the examination. You’ll have to simply submit your school clearance documents along with a request to appear in examination at the PSI services which govern all the exam based activity for the barber’s board in Tennessee. Follow this simple instructions:
- Search and carefully read the Tennessee Master Barber Examination Candidate Information Bulletin
- Set the timings for your exam online
- Give proof of $70 exam fee payment
Both the theoretical and practical examination need to be cleared with a score of 70% or higher for you to succeed and get a license.
Master Barber Practical Exam
The physical testing exam is time taking. It spans up to 3 hours and 10 minutes during which you’ll have to display the following barbering skills on a model and mannequin that you bring along to the test center:
- Precautionary measures and initial setup
- Haircutting and designing
- Washing hair
- Simple shave
- Facial services
- Manicuring one or two fingers
- Hair coloring
- Hair removal
- Germ safety
The practical examination can be attempted at any one of these PSI testing centers:
Master Barber Theory exam
This 2 hour long exam contains of two parts: one is the barber studies portion and other is the barber law screening test. The barber theory exam consists these topics:
- Hair trimming and designing
- Skin treatment
- Rules for barbers
- Dying hair
- Removing hair
- Germ disinfection and cleanliness
- Washing and conditioning hair
The law and regulation exam has to be attempted under a time limit of 40 minutes and contains only 25 questions for you to answer based upon:
- Cleanliness and germ removal
- Barber license procedure and laws
The exam can be attempted at any of the digital examination centers:
- Johnson City
Step 3. Submit your Tennessee Barber License Application
After clearing your exam, the board will send you a license application for the Tennessee barber’s license and you have to fill and return it by mail along with proof of $75 processing fee payment. Send it to this address:
Tennessee Board of Barber Examiners
500 James Robertson Pkwy
Nashville, TN 37243-1148
Professionals that already possess barber licenses in other provinces of the country can also get their licenses transferred by following a proper procedure. The process is known and reciprocity and you should follow these instructions to utilize it:
- Fill and send an Application for Reciprocity
- Join official proof of licensure.
- Join certification of barber schooling
- Put a request for licensure from Tennessee board
- Attach proof of $150 payment
All the above mentioned material also has to be sent to the board directly. You can use the same address that is mentioned above.
Step 4. Start your Career as a Barber in Tennessee
A newly recruited barber in the board’s barber list has a variety of open windows in the industry that he can utilize to polish his skill.
In case you’re entrepreneurial, you can gain a little experience and then open your own shop. Opening your own barbershop would offer a lot of perks. This is the procedure to do so:
- You can find online and read all Important Information
- Fill and send the Barbershop License Application
- Pay the $150 shop registration fee
Step 5. Renew your Tennessee Barber License Biannually
Barber licenses in Tennessee go void after a limited time of 24 months and require immediate renewal after that. The board sends a renewal application automatically to all barbers. You just have to send it back with $80 barber license renewal fee. No extended education is required for barbers by the Board however you can increase your knowledge by attending seminars and conferences to enhance styling skills.